Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Interpreting Your Report

Options

Comments

• djmammo
    djmammo Member Posts: 1,003
    edited March 2018
    Options

LDepp71

Birads 2 by definition means there are only benign findings seen, no suspicious findings. If they thought it was cancer it would not have a Birads 2, there would have been a recommendation for more imaging or a biopsy.

• Great914
    Great914 Member Posts: 4
    edited March 2018
    Options

Hi, I am new to this sight. I was recently called back in for a diagnostic mammogram and ultrasound. My mom was diagnosed at 49. They told me that I need a biopsy ( scheduled for March 23)and labeled me as a Bi-rad 4b.... I believe due to pleomorphic calcifications with branching patterns. Here is the report:

MAMMOGRAPHIC FINDINGS: Right 2-D and 3-D ML as well as diagnostic spot magnification views were obtained. There are scattered areas of fibroglandular density. Again demonstrated is a 0.5 cm mass in the central right breast (MLO view) which projected to
    the inner breast on the screening mammogram images. Patient was sent for targeted ultrasound of the central right breast for further evaluation. There is a 0.2 cm group of pleomorphic calcifications in the lower inner right breast, with suggestion of a
    branching distribution.

RIGHT BREAST ULTRASOUND: Sonographic evaluation of the central inner right breast was performed.

At the 2:00 position 3 cm from the nipple, there is an oval, circumscribed, anechoic mass compatible with a benign simple cyst measuring 0.4 x 0.2 x 0.4 cm.

At the 2:30 position 4 cm from the nipple, there is an oval, circumscribed, anechoic mass compatible with a benign simple cyst measuring 0.5 x 0.4 x 0.6 cm. This appears to correspond to the mammographic mass for which the patient was called back.