Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Starting/declining hormone therapy Nov, Dec, Jan 2018

Options

Comments

• JohannaK
    JohannaK Member Posts: 4
    edited January 2019
    Options

Hi everyone, my name is Johanna and I live in Utah. I’m a newbie and stumbled onto this thread today when I set up my account. It’s so interesteing and comforting to read about your experiences and to know I'm not alone going through all this. Thank you for all your thoughtful and informative posts. I'm so relieved to have found this.

I had my lumpectomy in late June, my radiation in August. I started tamoxifen at end of September and took it for a month. Sadly I experienced really bad side effects, specifically mood swings/rage , dizziness/disorientation so my oncologist discontinued. I had a few weeks off and let my body recover, and the side effects went away almost immediately.

My oncologist did a blood test to confirm I was premenopausal and then in end of October I had my first injection of zoladex. About 4 weeks later my oncologist took another blood test to confirm that my hormone levels had gone to post menopausal levels and then started me on anastrozole right around Thanksgiving.

I do the zoladex shots every 28 days and take my anastrozole and now citalopram (for anxiety, which is one of the SEs I've had from the meds) at night as I go to bed.

Being about 6-7 weeks into taking both simultaneously, I do have quite a few side effects, although none as bad as I experienced with tamoxifen.

I have a lot of hot flashes, especially at night and I have trouble sleeping. I wake up most nights at 3-4 am and often end up getting up at 5 when I give up on getting anymore sleep. Strange to be up early every day after 45 years of being a total night owl:). Not getting enough sleep wears on you though.