Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Bone Mets and Told I Need Hip Replacement

Options

I am in the ER and being told I need a hip replacement due to the bone mets. The ER is at my local hospital not the cancer center in Pittsburgh I go to. I came here due to hip and leg pain. The ER doc has a call into my oncologist in Pittsburgh. I want to hear what she says. I am very shocked and surprised by this turn of events and hope anyone who’s been in this situation can offer advice and insight.

Tagged:

Comments

• exbrnxgrl
    exbrnxgrl Member Posts: 4,796
    Options

Camille,

I have no advice or experience in that area, sorry. I can only offer you my hopes for a successful resolution to your pain. Please let us know how you’re doing when you have more info and time 💗

• mkestrel
    mkestrel Member Posts: 148
    Options

If it's not an emergency about to fracture maybe you have time to get some opinions. I know it's very overwhelming and I'm sorry you have to deal with this. I do know several friends who have had hip replacements for other reasons. There have been a lot of advancements in orthopedic surgery. I hope you get answers and feel better soon.

• divinemrsm
    divinemrsm Member Posts: 6,034
    Options

Thanks exbrnxgrl and mkestrel. I’m still in local ER waiting for a room in the Pittsburgh hospital. I am glad to be going there as it’s where the cancer center and my onc are. I have no idea when this transport will happen but I hope soon.. All I can do is wait. I guess I won’t have any answers till later.