Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Support us when you check out at Walgreens! Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

Latissimus Dorsi Breast Reconstruction

Comments

• jo1955
    jo1955 Member Posts: 7,545

Cindy - Not mean at all.  Money can buy just about anything and new boobs is one of them.  "Reality stars"  are just that - living in a fantasy world.

I am post-op 1 week today and feel pretty darn good.  If I did not have to put up with 2 drains on my left side I would be great.  Don't think I am going to lose any range of motion which is super.  I want to play golf again sometime this summer.  I am not a pro - far from it - but it is one activity that DH and I like to do together.  Have my first follow up with my PS on Friday.  May have to tell him again what an amazing job he did - LOL!

• nurseronda10
    nurseronda10 Member Posts: 109

Faythnme - I feel the same way.  The stars get the best of the best doctors and don't have to settle for their hometown general surgeon for breast surgery like I did and have a screwed up mastectomy.  I could go on and on, but won't.  

shredbetty007 -  Welcome to this thread.  Be sure your PS has done several hundred LD flaps.  I read on here some where that one lady couldn't even open a jar lid and regretted her LD flap.  I haven't noticed any weakness on LD side with normal day to day activities.  I did try to use my exercise bands and could only pull down half way on LD side and back started burning.  I only did 5 reps and quit, thinking it's probably too soon to be doing this type of exercise.  I see my PS Monday so will ask him if I should even be doing lat exercises.  He did tell me the butterfly stroke would be very difficult and when golfing the lat muscle is used, but he used the words olympic and pro when he referred to swimming and golf.  

• nurseronda10

jo1955 - Glad you are feeling good.  The drains are a pain in the #$%.