Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Bras 101: The Great Post-Exchange Debate

Options

Comments

• waldo
    waldo Member Posts: 145
    Options

samiam, I need them pushed together so I have no experience to offer you but doesn't the playtex 18 hour bra claim to lift and separate?

I went to TJ Maxx to look for bras hoping to find a $12.00 Natori, Chantelle, or Waacol bargain. I didn't find any high end brands or anything in my size. Last week I went to Marshalls.  Maybe its a CA or southwest thing to have the high ends in TJ's- but in NJ they have a lot of Balis and Warners and Rene Rofe

• Lilah
    Lilah Member Posts: 2,631
    Options

Or maybe in NJ (which is where I also am Waldo :) people just snap them up faster! 

• binney4
    binney4 Member Posts: 1,466
    Options

Jerusha, I suspect one reason the PS's differ in their protocol is because this is a complex problem, not simply an issue of positioning implants. Underwires and tight bands increase the risk of breast and truncal lymphedema (which is on the rise, according to recent evidence-based research, though the cause of that rise is not yet known), and tight straps do the same for arm lymphedema. So I'd guess any surgeon makes compromises as he sees best. It's helpful (as cs7 mentions) to be sure bands and straps are wide and distribute the pressure across more area. But underwires and tight bands and straps do limit or even cut off lymph flow (the lymph vessels are right under the skin), which can overwhelm an already-compromised lymph system.

Breast cancer is just a welter of compromises, start to finish!Tongue out All of our doctors make these judgement calls every day -- hard to imagine the stress they're under all the time, especially as new research throws light on one aspect or another. All very complex!

Be well,
    Binney

• waldo
    Options