Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Starting Chemo in Nov. 2011...anyone else?

Options

Comments

• bahamamom3
    bahamamom3 Member Posts: 275
    Options

I am getting my port put in next Monday, Nov. 21st and my first chemo Nov. 25th.  My doctor said she would give me the treatments on Fridays, then I would rest over the weekend and feel good enough to return to work on Monday or Tuesday.  But I saw where you said days 3-7 are the worst.  I am wondering now if I shuld change my appointments and maybe get them on Wednesdays or Thursdays. What do you think? I am a middle school teacher, so it does take quite a bit of energy to do my job.  Plus, I haven't told anyone at my work yet and was hoping not to have to.  Now, I am also wondering how to get beyond the hair thing.  I think I will look at wigs, but I just can't imagine myself wearing one. 

• GrandmaV
    GrandmaV Member Posts: 1,045
    Options

Congradulations to all who had their first treatment today.  You're one step closer to being done.

• GrandmaV
    Options

bahamamom3, thank you for joining us.  Your first treatment is the same day as my second tx.  What combination will you receive? 

• racerdeb
    racerdeb Member Posts: 114
    Options

Lory48,

It's good to see that you survived your first treatment also.  That's a bummer about your incision.

My Onc highly recommended the Claritin - just not the D variety.  So, I'm definitely gonna try it.

Like I said in my other post, I'm somewhat pooped too.  I had expected 2-3 hours of treatment, but it took a lot longer to get started with all of the pre-meds, getting all of my stuff put in their computer, etc.  From start to finish, it was over six hours total time.

Be sure to share your SEs, etc., with the rest of us.  I know linnyhopp is a day ahead of us, so she will be a good indicator of what to expect, I think.