Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

Stage 2 Sisters Club

Comments

• cakes
    cakes Member Posts: 89
    edited August 2014

Sometimes your dental office will have samples of Biotene toothpaste and rinse as well as RX fluoride rinses. Don't be afraid to ask for samples; they get them free from reps. :)

• PeggySull
    PeggySull Member Posts: 368
    edited August 2014

hi, I'm new to this topic.  I'm triple negative and never have understood whether I am Stage 2a or 2b.  Have forgotten to ask onc even though I am about 2 years from date of diagnoses.  Can anyone provide some enlightenment?

To follow on the latest discussion of dry mouth-- my dentist recommended I chew Ice Breakers Gum.  It has xylitol which is supposed to help with both dryness and prevention of cavities.  It is a bit strong when you first chew it but the flavor becomes quite subtle after a couple minutes of chewing.  If you chew one piece too long you will get a little white mustache around your lips so take care to look in a mirror periodically when you are using it.

Hugs and glad that this forum/topic is here,

Peggy

• mmtagirl
    mmtagirl Member Posts: 325
    edited August 2014

Yep, Biotene has worked great for me, too. Only 2 small mouth sores that healed up on their own within a couple of days since I started chemo in April. Last infusion is this Tuesday!

• missingmercury
    missingmercury Member Posts: 156
    edited August 2014

I have biotene spray.  I don't use it enough.  I'm not sure I feel like my mouth is as dry as it really is.

• bevin
    bevin Member Posts: 519
    edited August 2014

dear Peggy Sull- according to cancer.gov

Stage II is divided into stages IIA and IIB.

• specialk
    specialk Member Posts: 9,258
    edited August 2014

peggy - I would say IIA due to size and no positive lymph nodes.  The only way your could be IIB without nodes is if your mass was larger than 5cm.