Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Any Michigan Ladies?

Options

Comments

• Stix
    Stix Member Posts: 610
    edited April 2015
    Options

Madison. Why did he suggest a lat. flap versus auto fat transfer?

• Madison4568
    Madison4568 Member Posts: 44
    edited April 2015
    Options

Hi Stix, In order for me to get an implant on the radiated side I have to have a flap. I don't have enough fat for a TRAM or DIEP. He said he can do fat transfer to fill in spots if needed.

• Stix
    edited April 2015
    Options

Madison- Have you gotten second opinions if you have enough fat? 

• Madison4568
    edited April 2015
    Options

I don't think I need a second opinion. Dr. Momoh came highly recommended to me by my doctors. I'm a college student in my early twenties (23) and was in really good shape before chemo. Even though I have a few lbs. to lose now, I still have minimal stomach fat compared to what you would need for one breast, much less two of them.

• allydp
    allydp Member Posts: 361
    edited April 2015
    Options

Tree - I can totally understand being torn about neo-adjuvant. Who's your MO? Mine is Dr. Beekman. She recommended the chemo regimen TC, but after some research and consulting an onc friend at Sloan Kettering, I decided I wanted to do the more aggressive regimen of ACT + Carbo. I spoke with Dr. Beekman and she was good with the ACT, but didn't okay the Carbo until later. I would say if you want to do neo-adjuvant, keep pushing and tell your onc that's what you're most comfortable with.

Madison - I saw Dr. Pierce for an opinion on rads. She was amazing! Sounds like you have a great team!

• Stix
    edited April 2015
    Options

Madison-

One of the girls had several opinions in Michigan and THEY all said they could not do fat transfer.