Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Mothers with school aged children

Options

Comments

• Momchichi
    Momchichi Member Posts: 98
    Options

I stayed up most of last night reading this topic from the beginning. It was exactly what I needed at the time. Like micmel said above, it was a gut punch to see the names of the many wonderful women lost in the recent year or so. Moms just like me, with kids just like mine. As upsetting as that is, I take comfort to see their warm words of advice and am grateful that their voices remain here forever. I was also comforted to see many with the same struggle I’m having about leaving a legacy to my two middle schoolers - what to do with our time together and what lasting, tangible items to create. I’m overwhelmed by trying to find the right things to leave me at peace and not burden them with letters or videos that make them cry instead of soothing them. I was a preschool teacher and think I will video myself reading some of their favorite picture books. And I’ll talk about them as little kids, what they’d liked about the books. So they can hear my silly voice reading something fun and be able to show their own kids a happy video. My daughter used to come in to my classroom on her spring break and read at circle time. I don’t think I want to leave a video that is too “final” sounding which would be depressing for us all. I received one of those hallmark recordable books when my kids were babies and had everyone in the family read a page. I treasure hearing my dad’s voice in it each Christmas since he died shortly after. I also saw online where people make teddy bears out of old shirts from loved ones. My 11 year old daughter has been borrowing my clothes more lately so maybe I’ll just take my cues from her. My 13 year old son has mild autism so i can’t really gauge how he is processing this. He’s an an avid reader and music lover so I think I may leave him a list of my favorite books and songs to hel