Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Prolia Shots for Increasing Osteopenia

Options

Comments

• minustwo
    minustwo Member Posts: 13,104
    Options

My dentist, my periodontist and my endodontist are all comfortable doing cleanings, regular fillings, crowns & even root canals while I'm on Prolia. I am not a doctor, but from what I understand, the major risk is from exposed bone due to extraction. My docs have specified waiting 6+ months after the last Prolia shot before an extraction - and waiting 3 more months before starting Prolia again. This of course does not allow for emergency extractions. I had all possible dental work done before I started Prolia and I have my fingers crossed.

I had my 4th Prolia shot sub-Q in my belly five days ago. Fortunately again I have not had any side effects. Since the bone increase I have gained will fall off rapidly after cessation, I will continue for 5 years if I don't have to stop for dental issues - then take a 'drug holiday' for a year before starting again. This is the current recommendation of both my MO and my GYN. That said, my GYN says the ongoing research is only 8 years out so of course lots more to know.

Prolia & Xgeva are the same drug (denosumab) but dosage is different. The first is used for osteoporosis or osteopenia once every six months and the second is used for bone mets every 4 weeks.

http://www.breastcancer.org/tips/bone_health/keep_...

• jazzygirl
    jazzygirl Member Posts: 11,934
    Options