Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Is anyone going flat or living flat?

Options

Comments

• coraleliz
    coraleliz Member Posts: 158
    edited February 2017
    Options

I've been flat for almost 6years now. I never really considered reconstruction. As a nurse, I had encountered breast cancer patients both with & without recon. I remember forgetting to ask my BS, prior to surgery, if my scars would be horizontal or diagonal. I didn't have a preference but I thought knowing would prepare me for the first look at my post-surgical chest. My surgical dressings fell off the night before my appt when she would have taken them off anyway. It looked like diagonal scars are suppose to look.

As for being flat, it still doesn't bother me. When I'm changing in the locker room a the gym, I do "surfer style" changing. I don't want to draw any attention to myself or be the topic of any conversation. I've never worn foobs or prostheses.

I usually wear a sports type bra. When shirts rub against my bare chest, it can feel strange. It's not painful but more annoying.

• castigame
    castigame Member Posts: 336
    edited February 2017
    Options

post op 3 days. Double mx. No recon. It is painful enough for me to sell my mother over pain meds. I would sell my dh for the meds. I deliberately looked at my flat chest. Not a single tear came out of me.. I am very happy about my no recon decision so far.

• exbrnxgrl
    exbrnxgrl Member Posts: 4,776
    edited February 2017
    Options