Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

How Many Stage 4 Girls are getting SS disability..

Comments

• saint
    saint Member Posts: 583
    edited June 2009

SORRY----guess it is NOT universal. I know what my experience has been & I know what my friend has told me when I ask him questions for others----it SUX that it can't be easier for EVERYONE..

I will desist....

• kismetlcn
    kismetlcn Member Posts: 1
    edited June 2009

Hello all.  Been lurking on the forum since I had my suspicious mammogram back in early March, but this is my first time posting.

As you can see in my signature I am stage IV from the get go. I have been approved for SSDI and will receive my first check for September in October.

The question I have is, how do you know if you're getting back-pay?  Is it different for everyone, and if so, can anyone tell me why?

Thanks,

Christine

• Unknown
    edited June 2009

Christine,  I think Saint knows more about this than most of us because she has a friend who either works for SS or deals with this kind of stuff.  From what I have heard and read, I think it is retroactive and they will start paying you from the date you applied and of course you had to have been not working during that time frame.  I have an appt next Friday to see what I would have to do to get it....am not really ready to stop working so this is probably premature on my part, but I want to have my ducks all lined up and know what to expect.  From what I understand, I must already have stopped working to apply and I have not done that.  Congratulations on getting the OK. Did you apply in March?

• mammalamma
    mammalamma Member Posts: 2
    edited June 2009

approved prior to breast ca; had worked solidly since age 12, and then severe ilness took over at age 45 [9 yrs.]  now 7 yrs post lcis stahe III,  2/3/09 stagedIIV

• Unknown
    edited June 2009