Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.

MIDDLE-AGED WOMEN 40-60ish

Comments

• Lita57
    Lita57 Member Posts: 2,338

I TOTALLY AGREE ABOUT STRESS. I worked in construction for over 25 years - extremely stressful.

I think the reason I'm doing as well as I am now is because I QUIT as soon as I was dx'd.

I feel for women who still have to work to keep their insurance after they've been dx'd at any stage. Just battling cancer is stressful enuf without having to deal with temperamental bosses and nasty coworkers.

• nativemainer
    nativemainer Member Posts: 7,907

El--LOL!Interesting study. Not sure what it means, if anything. Going to continue my coffee and tea drinking anyway. As well as my evening glass of wine!

Lita--well said!

Diana--another example of how these studies really can't prove causation.

Ndgrrl--great, the stress of having been diagnosed with bc, the stress associated with treatment are setting us up for recurrence or a second cancer.If stress were truly causative there would be a much higher incidence of recurrence. Not that stress reduction is bad, but I'm not buying this one either.

• klt5817
    klt5817 Member Posts: 32

Ladies,  great discussion about what causes BC!  I say it's a crap shoot.  Yes, there are things to do to reduce our risk but that should not but a strain on our life or reduce QOL.  In the end, just being a women is a HUGH risk.  I was recently dx at 51 & my 23 yrs old daughter told me I'm one of the healthiest and most organized person she knows.  Most of us are quite healthy when we were dx. 

Lita, I love your quote " I've been dragged into an "arranged" marriage that I vociferously did not agree to...but divorce is completely off the table now that I'm married to Mr. Cancer. It's literally until death do us part."  Can I use it for my Holiday Greeting card, lol?Bawling

• elimar
    elimar Member Posts: 5,885