Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.
Join us for a Special Meetup: The Benefits of Exercise for Anyone With Breast Cancer, Oct. 16, 2024 at 2pm ET. Learn more and register here.

thread for middle age to older Christian women.

Comments

• delorisann
    delorisann Member Posts: 3
    edited July 2013

Hello, my name is Deloris and I am 67 years old from Arkansas. I have been fighting cancer for 23 years now beginning with BC in 1990 and again in 2000. then in 2007  they found the mets in my spine and now it is in both femur bones, my hips and spine and skull and now my jaw. It seems like it just wants to consume me. I am very happy to say that the Lord has taken good care of me all of these years. I have never been hospitalized except for the two lumpectomys . I am the Choir leader at my church and we sing for the glory of the Savior. I am glad I found this forurm where I can talk to other older ladies. I was married the first time for 41 years to an alcoholic and finally decided I did not need to live my live miserably forever so since I divorced him , God sent me a really great man who I have been married to now for 8 years and we are very happy. I have three children and 7 grand children and now 4 1/2 great grandbabies. I am very blessed. I have had radiation 5 times with the last time a few months ago when the cancer cracked my jaw bone and destroyed a nerve in my jaw. My bottom lip and chin are completely numb and I had blisters in my mouth for about a month after that radiation, it as the worse by far. I have had Zometa, Faslodex and now am on the chemo pill xlodia. I am not in a lot of pain and the hydrocodone controls what pain I do have so far. Thank the Lord. I am planning a trip to Texas to see my 86 year old mom next week for two weeks and I really am looking forward to that trip as we never know when it will be the  last one. She is almost totally blind from macular degenera