Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

How many years have you been a Survivor?

Options

Comments

• shadow2356
    shadow2356 Member Posts: 93
    edited October 2010
    Options

It has been just over a year since I was diagnosed and next week it will be a year since my BMX.

Its been a tough year, surgery, chemo, herceptin. I have more surgery to go and more herceptin.

When I read about long term survivors it alleviates a lot of anxiety. I love the stories about people in their 80's and still going strong. Keep those stories coming!

Thanks.

• JRae
    JRae Member Posts: 3
    edited August 2013
    Options

I'm a newbie too--only a few months.  But wanted to share that my mother is a 31 year survivor.  She's 81 and still going strong.

2-28-12 I'm back to add--now I'm almost a 2 year survivor.  Just completed an MRI which showed no areas of concern.   My mother is still going strong as a 33-year survivor, just had her 83rd birthday.   May we all be so blessed.

• marlegal
    marlegal Member Posts: 1,482
    edited October 2010
    Options

i use dx date .. easier for me to remember, and that was 5 yrs and 5 weeks ago.  i don't care what anyone says about 7 yrs or 10 yrs .. making 5 yrs felt pretty friggin wonderful!!!!   had lumpectomy, chemo (1 sentinel was positive), axillary node removal (all clear), radiation, tamoxifen, now aromasin.  i've done more travelling in the last 5 yrs than in the prior 50, including 2 trips with women i met in the chat rooms, and another coming up this wed to sun in williamsburg, va with chatters.  i didn't vote to get bc, and woudln't wish it on anyone, but some really good things have come out of it for me.  i wish that for all of you.

• hopeful34
    hopeful34 Member Posts: 522
    edited October 2010
    Options