Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Unilateral mastectomy & reconstruction

Options

Comments

• tress29
    tress29 Member Posts: 9
    edited February 2015
    Options

I joined the forum a week or so ago, but have been reading through this entire thread before posting!  I'm a 47yo, divorced mom of twin boys. (Almost 16, yikes!) I work in IT, I'm a telecom admin.  Was diagnosed with DCIS, Stage 0, in November of last year.  Two lumpectomies later, I'm scheduled for a right UMX on March 5th.  I'm jumping right into reconstruction with a TE.

Like many of you, I'm a side sleeper.  I've been "practicing" sleeping sitting up in bed the past few nights, tweaking the pillow arrangements, etc.  My little dog thinks that's an invitation to sleep in my lap.  That's not such a bother, but when he's in my lap, the cat tries to one up him and sleep on my stomach!  I've been trying to switch some activities to my left hand, but my right is dominant and fighting hard!  I know I'll have lifting requirements on the UMX side, what about the other side?  Trying to figure out how to navigate!

Anyway, I've learned a lot from reading through your posts...

• Frostecat
    Frostecat Member Posts: 223
    edited February 2015
    Options

Tress - sorry to have to welcome you to the board, but there will be a lot of help for you here. I haven't posted for quite awhile, just taking a breather after all of this. Just got back from a much needed vacation and was trying to put a lot of this behind me so I could enjoy.