Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Anyone on just Taxotere and Cytoxan?

Options

Comments

• KathyL
    KathyL Member Posts: 109
    edited February 2008
    Options

Wendy:  I saw Robin R.  She looked great!  Sorry to hear about your nausea this time around.  Strange that it came on so late... could you have a virus, esp. this time of year?

Sunshine:  I do the same steroid regimen as you.  I seem to have the most trouble sleeping the first night only, the other two nights I'm fine.  Ear thermometers are notoriously inaccurate b/c you have to get the angle right (I'm a nurse, so I've tested lots) in the ear canal.  I personally like oral digital (but the batteries can die, so if it starts giving weird readings, it's probably that) and the newer temporal scanners-- very accurate and quick.

• guitarGrl
    guitarGrl Member Posts: 150
    edited February 2008
    Options

I started my first treatment today too. No problem with the Cytoxan, but when the taxotere was connected, I got this incredible burning pain in my hip and lower back. The nurse said that was a known reaction. She stopped the taxotere, started a new IV of benedryl & steroids. After that, I went through the taxotere without problem.

The benedryl and the steroids are now fighting it out in my body to see if they get to put me to sleep or keep me awake like last night. I'm rooting for the benedryl!

My doctor didn't say anything at all about Neulasta - does everybody get it? Are there some people who can skip that step?

susan

• sunshine99
    sunshine99 Member Posts: 2,615
    edited February 2008
    Options