Donate to Breastcancer.org when you checkout at Walgreens in October. Learn more about our Walgreens collaboration.
Join us for a Special Meetup: The Benefits of Exercise for Anyone With Breast Cancer, Oct. 16, 2024 at 2pm ET. Learn more and register here.

Can we have a forum for "older" people with bc?

Comments

• sandra4611
    sandra4611 Member Posts: 1,750
    edited December 2013

Ritajean, great news about your knee. The relief you feel must be huge. As a fitness instructor, I've blown out practically everything over the years, but I think my knees were the hardest to recover from. Acupuncture I'm familiar with but not the cold laser treatment. Is that like a super ice pack?

A lot of people are afraid of acupuncture, but truly you don't feel a thing. Ritajean is right. Years ago my mother (a nurse in an internal medicine practice) was upset when they hired a Chinese doctor. Her training told her it wasn't "real" medical treatment. But after seeing so many patients be helped, she changed her mind. When Dr. Ho left to set up his own practice, Mother went with him and ran his office until she retired. I probably have told this story before...my memory isn't what it used to be...but then, you are all "old" like me so even if I did tell it before, you won't remember! SillyHeartDr. Ho helped my mother with her rheumatoid arthritis...it was amazing to see those lobster claw hands become normal again in only a few days. He helped me with tendonitis in my elbow that months of physical therapy wasn't helping. In less than a week of treatments, it was gone and has never come back. It doesn't work right away...you have to be patient, but a Chinese doctor knows what he is doing.

One of the doctors who works in the burn clinic at the military hospital (where my husband is a volunteer) just got trained in acupuncture. Apparently it works wonders for severe burn patients. I think it's great that Western medicine is accepting Eastern medicine now.

• carolehalston