Support us when you check out at Walgreens Learn more here: Walgreens collaboration.

Lets Post our Daily Exercise

Comments

• badger
    badger Member Posts: 24,938
    edited October 2011

welcome misswim, it's beautiful here too and I got in a FAB 90 min walk this a.m.

I started walking when I started chemo in March 2010, with a goal to walk 500 miles (inspired by that song by the Proclaimers).  Some days 15 mins around the block was all I could do.  But I got a pedometer and tracked all my miles.  It helps me to see my progress so I post it in my sig line.  Now I've gone 1,622.5 miles.  I also love yoga and have fall classes starting soon- yay!

Have a good week Tarts!  {{hugs}} to all

• quiche
    quiche Member Posts: 180
    edited October 2011

Hey misswim . . . jump on in! Congrats on finishing up on your treatment (no easy feat) and wanting to get back into working out. I'm no expert by any means, but my advice to you would be to be kind to yourself and take it slow and easy. I was very active pre-bc too and one of my pitfalls was taking on too much too soon. My head would say, "Go, go, go!", but my body would say, "Nope, not so much". It took me so long to recuperate from a workout I would lose anything I had gained.

I have a new strategy now, but I've had to pull back a LOT. For instance, it use to be nothing for me to take on a 35 mile bike ride, but right now I have to pat myself on the back when I can get 8 miles under my belt. Same with running, I started a new program last week where I run for 1 minute, walk for 2 minutes in a 20 minute window and slowly increase the running ratio each week.

Hoping this method will work and my patience will pay off. Honestly, I've found that holding back takes just as much discipline and determination as going all out. Of course, everyone and every treatment is different so take this for what it's worth. Could be you'll bounce back much quicker (that's my wish for you :-)