Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.

Bras 101: The Great Post-Exchange Debate

Comments

• val61
    val61 Member Posts: 969

(((((((Speech)))))) - So happy you had a good experience w/ Nordie's, even though it was tough at first.  We've all been there, so we understand.....

Laura - First of all, I certainly don't intend to circumvent ANY PS's recommendations, so I hope I'm not coming across as doing so!  I'm not a medical professional, just somebody who's been through the trials and tribulations of bras and hope to maybe help somebody else doing the same. My PS recommends bras - specifically underwire ones - to fully support the implants, especially during the first few months after exchange.  Eventually scar tissue forms the "capsule" around the implants, which offers some support actually, but initially there's not much support naturally and gravity can have its way.  He believes - which I know is contrary to many other PS's - that even after the initial few months of healing that bras should be worn most of the time - for support and to keep the implants in place, especially for those of us w/ funky ribcages or are very active w/ our arms (w/ yoga, pilates).   As for sleeping, there's a good bit of gravitational pull on the implants - laterally if you're a back sleeper, especially - so it makes sense to prevent that, as well.  That being said, my PS also believes that at some point it's necessary to "get on with your life" and if that includes not sleeping in a bra for comfort or other reasons, then so be it.   Hope that helps clarify things.    Just know that I'm really NOT trying to tell everybody to sleep in a bra!

Gosh.....I haven't been to the pic forum in FOREVER, so I need to go check out all your new bra pics!  Maybe I'll take some pics of my newest acquisitions......

• happymom8285
    happymom8285 Member Posts: 132