Come join others currently navigating treatment in our weekly Zoom Meetup! Register here: Tuesdays, 1pm ET.
Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Adhesive TAPE - help need to find non-allergic

Options

Comments

• violet_1
    violet_1 Member Posts: 335
    Options

Hi All, I'm new to this thread!

I am also highly allergic to adhesives. I can tolerate things for about 24 hrs...but by 48, I break out in horrible rashes. I recently had COBAN wrap (pretend Ace bandage type wrap) on my leg cuz I had something removed from my shin...

Doc. was thinking this would be better to TRY instead of tapes...OMG! I broke out in a horrid rash on my whole L. side of leg. I HAD to remove it the 2nd day and it actually burned my skin & left a shrapnel-looking rash...CRAZY! I took pics...Wink now I know to use a reg Ace bandage w/ gauze underneath the entire Coban OR, better, just only use cloth real ACE bandage to hold things in place.

Don't KNOW if I'm in fact, allergic to LATEX? Should I get tested? I have my upcoming implant exchange surgery...

Thanks!

• Trickling
    Trickling Member Posts: 295
    Options

For years, I did not know I had to tell medical staff that I broke out with a terrible rash if I used latex gloves for washing/cleaning. I simply decided to avoid latex gloves.

I already had had surgeries (fortunately without ill effects - probably due to the hospital's policy of non-latex use while operating). So how did I find out that latex allergies were NOTHING TO MONKEY AROUND WITH???