Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

My Husband, My Life, My Love, My Family, My Cancer

Comments

• candy-678
    candy-678 Member Posts: 4,166

So, I have a question for the group…. this is not about Social Security Disability, but my previous employer's long-term disability. I have been receiving LTD since 2019. Periodically they call or have my MO fill out a form and easy peasy I continue the benefits. This time (I am at my 5-year mark) they keep asking for more info from my MO and PCP. Because my latest scans are showing NED, though my MO's notes state I am "stable on current treatment", the LTD company may deny my claim saying I am no longer "disabled".

Have any of you heard this before !?

My MO's nurse says I am still Stage 4 and under treatment, and she has not had a problem before with the insurance companies denying a Stage 4 patient.

Any advice I can use in my appeal?

• chicagoan
    chicagoan Member Posts: 1,026

Candy, The company that my former employer used to manage LTD claims tried to say that I could go back to full-time work after one year. I fought it with my medical records. My arguments were also that the cancer treatments caused a great deal of fatigue which would make full-time work impossible. I have never been declared NEAD, just stable. My scans always show quite a bit of cancer throughout my body. After that, I was careful to never say I was feeling good at medical appointments. After that one time I was never challenged again but I did have to answer all the annual questionnaires and provide my medical records. I am grateful that I am no longer on disability. Now I am considered fully retired. It's a relief not to have that sword hanging over my head. Last year for a time I had two part-time jobs which often added up to a 40+ hour week. Those weeks were truly exhausting and I felt less guilty b/c it would be hard for me to work full-time.

• moderators
    moderators Posts: 8,462
    edited June 11