Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

MIDDLE-AGED WOMEN 40-60ish

Comments

• Just_V
    Just_V Member Posts: 436

leisaparis - i am guessing a squirrel's leg! 

I am new to this thread but seem to qualify - 51 years old, employeed full time, have a 21 year old college grad (yea!) daughter and 16 year old son - i was diagnosed april 14 and just got my surgery date (well almost - still tentative but almost for sure!) of june 8th which is my daughter's 22 b-day (ugh - what a day for surgery, huh?).  They will remove my right breast and input a TE -- with the exchange in about three months along with an implant in the left to even things up ... everything seems to take soooo long! 

So if any of you all have had a simple mastectomy with TE and exchange later on, let me know - little freaked out about my boobs changing sizes and not being the same size for a bit... figure i'll be stuffing my bra (i did not even do that in high school!). And a lot freaked about the surgery and post-op pain.

• elimar
    elimar Member Posts: 5,885

Welcome vhshea, we have a lot of Texans on this thread, so you have some homegirls here.  I like the "math" you have in your signature line, and also how you jumped right in with a great guess of squirrel leg.  It does look like some fur.  You will get a lot of Newbie prestige if you are right!!!   I can't comment on Mx or exchange but this thread has women with all different experiences so you should get a few comments about your surgery and post-op issues.

And welcome Clyn.  I see Friday the 13th was an unlucky day for you, and your mind has probably been in B/C hyperdrive this past week trying to sort out all the info., the procedures and options.  I hope you will receive some good "gifts" for your B-day this year...wide margins and clear nodes!  

• chrissyb
    chrissyb Member Posts: 11,438