Fill Out Your Profile to share more about you. Learn more...

Tumor markers elevated, a little worried right now.

Options

Comments

• goldie0827
    goldie0827 Member Posts: 6,835
    Options

Linny, how'd things go?

• ml143333
    ml143333 Member Posts: 190
    Options

Question - I am relatively new to the whole tumor marker testing every three months. I was diagnosed in 7/14, had a BMX with immediate reconstruction and chemo. In April, it will be a year since my last chemo treatment. My doctor checked my tumor markers at my first visit post chemo and is was at 18. It went down to 6 in December but was up to 6.3 in March. My MO said he's not worried about that at all. Is there a point at which I should be concerned? I have to admit that I dread every 3 months because of the tumor marker test. I know that it is reliable for some but some physicians don't use it. Mine does so I need to learn to deal with it. My tumor marker going up .3 did bother me, but should it?

Thank you for listening.

• goldie0827
    Options

That sounds like the CEA number, and no I don't think you should worry about that. Ask for a copy of your labs, and it will show you what the "normal" numbers should. There are the CEA and 2 CA's

• ml143333
    Options

Thank you. It is the CA-15 number and it is within limits.

• goldie0827
    Options

Less than 30 is normal. I think you are good to go! Little things can make those numbers move, being sick, maybe stress, etc. Carry on with life and living! No worries unless they tend to creep up each time, and then pass the "norm".

• linnyhopp
    linnyhopp Member Posts: 466
    Options